Dragon Watcher’s Hood

My sweet daughter purchased a lovely and fanciful book called Woodland Knits as a gift over a year ago.  I drooled over it, looked through it, dreamt of knitting from it and promptly stuck it on a bookshelf. You can find the book here:

Woodland Knits: over 20 enchanting patterns (Tiny Owl Knits)

As I lamented my inability to make a decision regarding what to make next with my large stash of yarn, books and magazines laughing at me in the background, my dear husband said to pick 1 thing to make for myself. This may sound simple, but it is HUGE!  I rarely if ever make anything for myself.  I don’t know why, maybe it is upbringing, feeling I would be too selfish.  I took a deep breath and picked up this book from the shelf.

My present this year was the purchase of enough yarn to make my first project from this book.  I went to my local yarn shop, Natural Stitches.  I found a wonderful yarn, Berroco’s Vintage Chunky in Teal, had it wound and went home to enjoy the holidays.

The day after Christmas when so many were out returning gifts, I was casting on for this gorgeous hood.  Vintage Chunky is actually a little small on it’s own for this hood, which calls for super bulky, but I just knit it double stranded and it worked perfectly.

10888407_10152655948911909_2467285738683188979_n

Pattern review: This pattern is very simple and would make a good beginner project. You don’t need a lot of bulky weight or doubled chunky weight yarn (I used 4 skeins and had enough left over to make matching mini mitts) and a pair of US 15 circular needles. You start out knitting flat and then join in the round.  There is some shaping and making the channel for the i-cord is a bit fiddly, but if you follow the directions exactly you will be able to complete this quickly. I started on Friday, knitted for a couple hours, finished it Saturday and wore it on Sunday. I even added beads and bells to the point of the hood as well as the ends of the cord.

 

Be sure to check out Tiny Owl Knits for inspiration and gorgeous patterns!

