Excitement, trying new things and Finished project

Have any of you tried arm knitting yet?  I have wanted to but just haven’t gotten around to it.

Enter The Crafty Gemini — this wonderful young crafter has the most fantastic DIY Arm Knitting tutorial! She breaks it down into easy peasy directions and visuals so that even a non-crafter can pick up a couple skeins of yarn and be arm knitting a lush bulky scarf in no time at all!

I am usually a slow knitter, however Arm Knitting is an exception. I had a really long infinity scarf in 30 minutes!  I found it to be relaxing and I didn’t even realize that it was the length I wanted it to be as I just kept going–it is that fast!

IMG_20150201_200512427 (2)

I used less than 1/2 of 3 balls of this yarn I purchased in a 1 lb. mill end bag from Pat Catan’s. Love the colors and for the price ($5) I couldn’t resist.

Not bad for my first one.  My daughter loved it so much she asked if I would make her one while she was at anime club. She picked out the colors from my stash and this is what I came up with. The yarns used are an emerald green Jiffy by Lion Brand, a aqua blue-green alpaca/angora/wool blend from Hobby Lobby (it was a gift so I don’t know the name of the yarn or the color), and one strand of Boutique Unforgettable yarn in Dragonfly.

0206151214e

Pattern (as it is) review: The original pattern used cast on 6 stitches. I felt that was not enough, so I tried 10 and that was too many. My daughter’s scarf is 8 stitches wide and I really like that width. You could make it skinny at 3 or 4 stitches. With 12 stitches I felt like I was knitting a blanket instead of a scarf. Or at least a shawl.

Arm Knitting is easy and perfect for non-crafters and experienced crocheters, knitters and artisans. It is a fast way to whip up a lovely warm gift to give as well as relax and spend 30 minutes (or more depending on size) creating!

Have fun with this and Go Create!!!

Leave a Reply

