Let’s Get Trashy!

People have asked me to share my processes and maybe walk them through some mixed media or junk art. So I present: Let’s get Trashy!

Over the next few weeks I will share photos, videos and inspiration to help you start your journey to art journaling and mixed media projects. We get to recycle along the way! Hooray!

What will you need?

  1. A bin to save your trash in. “Trash?” I hear you ask. Yes TRASH, things you would normally toss in your recycling bin or the “round file”. Here are just a few examples.  Business envelopes sent to you with bills or junk mail, junk mail postcards, manilla envelopes or puffy mailers sent to you. old birthday/Christmas/ Anniversary cards. magazines, cardboard boxes, cereal boxes, pop tart or cracker boxes, paper scraps, fabric scraps, vinyl, leather bits, tags from new clothing, used gift cards, tin cans, used pop cans, metal pop tops, leftover packaging, basically anything that can be cleaned and reused. I have seen people use cleaned out potato chip or cheese bags with the zip at the top and so much more.
  2.  Glue and adhesives. I personally love Scor-Tape, double sided tape, Craft bond Elmer’s glue sticks, Aleene’s tacky glue (clear and regular), mod podge and quick dry glue. You could add in E6000 too. Whatever you have on hand will most likely work. If you have questions as to what with what let me know and I will answer those questions in a follow up blog.
  3.  Paper! This can be scrapbook paper, cardstock, receipts, things that were printed out but you don’t need, ledger paper, grid paper. Whatever paper you have onhand.
  4. Tools: Scissors, paper trimmer, ruler, punches, dies, stamps, ink, needle, thread, and anything you might need for cutting or putting together projects.
  5. Lace, napkins, ribbon, doilies, pens, pencils, markers, glitter, sponges, paint, whatever else you see that you could smash into a book or add to a project to make it awesome.

I have a box and 2 bins worth ready to start (and I am sure plenty more in the craft room) a couple projects. We are going to start with Trashy Junk Journals. I plan to use cereal and pasta boxes as the base, add napkins and use trash for the signatures. I hope you will join me on this journey of recycling and upcycling. Come get trashy with me!

Hugs and Kisses

Amberlee

Leave a Reply

